Delectable Ginger Crunch

The main recipe book I recall learning to cook from was the Edmonds Cookery Book.  This amazing book has everything from baking to preserves to sauces and meat dishes.  Most New Zealand homes would have at least one edition of this very popular cookery book with all the  recipes being tried and true by generations.  Ginger crunch was one of the early recipes we made from this book as teens with its crisp base and sweet gingery fudge-like topping…. it is still a delightful treat.

Ginger Crunch

Base

  • 125 grams Butter (soft not melted)
  • 125 grams Sugar
  • 200 grams Flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground Ginger
  • 1 teaspoon Baking powder (preferably Edmonds)
  1. Cream Butter and Sugar
  2. Add dry ingredients (sifted if you like to do so)
  3. Knead well and press into a greased shallow tin (approx 18x25cm)
  4. Bake at 190ºC for 20 – 25 minutes

Topping

  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • ½ Cup Icing Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Golden Syrup
  • 2 teaspoons Ginger
  1. Heat until melted and smooth
  2. Pour over hot base.
  3. Cut into squares before it is cold.

Notes

  • Standard for me is to double the topping – just because, but it is sweet.
  • a smaller tin will result in a thicker base and topping where a larger tin will result in a thinner crisper base – experiment to find which you prefer.

Dedication – 11 March 2016

Aunty Kathy, the wife of my Uncle Bruce, the mother of my cousins Bronwyn, Andrea and Michelle, Grandma and Great Grandma. Rest in Peace.

My first experience with an electric mixer was in the home of Aunty Kathy, when I was about 10, where she let me make Ginger Crunch (probably after me hounding her silly) and she let me use her electric mixer.  Until this time, all my baking had been done by hand, often in a large cream coloured glazed earthen-ware bowl.  Butter was softened by standing the bowl in a sink of hot water.

Kathy Smith
Aunty Kathy Baking in 2015

With no idea how to use an electric mixer I just put in the hard butter and sugar and turned it on…oops.  Aunty Kathy said I should melt the butter first, so I moved the bowl to the sink with hot water and let the butter melt….. oops again.  With the patience of a Saint, she explained that soft butter works better and we then waited together until it cooled enough to continue with the assistance of her amazing electric mixer.  I couldn’t wait to get my own electric mixer and have now owned the same Kenwood for over 30 years.

Ginger crunch was successful, Uncle Bruce and the cousins enjoyed it.   Its a small memory, but was an important one for me, as I learnt patience from my Aunty Kathy.

Love is Patient, Love is kind, Love is not easily angered…..

One thought on “Delectable Ginger Crunch

Thank you for visiting - please leave a comment.

