I eat my Peas with honey…

I eat my peas with honey
I’ve done it all my life
It makes the peas taste funny
But it keeps them on the knife

Ogden Nash

peas

 

Sadly, or reflectively, I recall this poem from when I did after school speech lessons in my pre-teen years.  I think I liked it then as it was several pages shorter  and easier to memorise than The Owl and the Pussy-cat (which also mentions peas or at least a pea-green boat).  So how does this relate to these recollections of food and family…… I have three wee tales that relate..

  1. I don’t recall eating peas as a stand alone vegetable. We did have frozen mixed vegetables that contained peas.  There are, however, stories of dad and his siblings having to whistle as they shelled the peas for Nana on the farm near Timaru.
  2. Riki, Alisha and Dianne do NOT like peas.I even tried growing them fresh and they were not convinced.  They had to eat one for each year of their age when peas were served.  Riki still counts to make sure he only has 27 on his plate!!!!
  3. Honey, honey, honey…. we had Bee hives as a family hobby in Napier and on nearby farms.  There was always plenty of honey for  baking, milkshakes, sandwiches, medicinals and all manner of uses – but not with peas. Honey’d carrots are another matter…. LOVE them. Cook your carrots as normal. Drain them and add a generous knob of butter and a large spoon of honey. Flavour with garlic, nutmeg, ginger etc before serving .
Bees – makes of Honey
P.S. just to circularise this discourse…. Those Beehives, and the associated knowledge attained via observation and osmosis, made a great topic for Speech exams!!!
2 thoughts on “I eat my Peas with honey…

Thank you for visiting - please leave a comment.

