Churchill Square – a favourite of my Nana

My Aunty Judy recently shared this recipe with the family as it was one of my Nanas favourites.  Her email said ‘this was the slice they made for mums funeral it was the one that she baked mostly when visiting us all‘.  I dont actually recall having this slice at Nanas although there was always baking in her tins, and it was good…I don’t recall what any of it was.  When I worked at the Rotortua attraction Rainbow Springs in the early 90’s we brought in a lot of slices including one similar to this and it was one of my favourites. Funny how that works.   I did a bit of research on this slice and found that it was printed in the NZ Women’s Division of Federated Farmers Cookbook in 1965.

  • 250 grams Butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 250 grams Sugar
  • 3 Cups Flour
  • 2 Tablespoons Cocoa
  1. Beat butter and sugar together
  2. Add eggs then dry ingredients
  3. Put baking paper on bench place mixture on paper and lightly roll to about 1cm thick.  (or press half of the mix into a slice pan)

Filling

  • 2tbsp icing sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup condensed milk
  • 2 1/2 cup coconut
  1. Mix well spread over half of the base  then cover with rest of base.
  2. Cook 25 – 30 mins in moderate oven (180)

Of course Nana probably wouldn’t have cut this into circles as Dianne and I  did for the pictures…. but still tastes awesome.

3 thoughts on “Churchill Square – a favourite of my Nana

Thank you for visiting - please leave a comment.

