All I want for Christmas…Food and Family

Once again I am faced with the dilemma of people asking what I want for Christmas…..World peace?  A sack full of 100 dollar notes? Trinkets & ornaments?    No… while nice …. none of these will satisfy the desire for others to give me something  I will love and value.

Christmas, for me, has always been about family gathering together over a shared meal or meals and spending time with the people I care about.   Be it friends or family or a good mix of both – Christmas is about fun and laughter and a plate full of every-ones best culinary efforts.   Some of these are traditional Christmas fare, others are traditional for us and some are new treats we have never tried before.

Dianne has been discussing Christmas traditions with her friends and while they have some hard and fast Christmas traditions for gift giving and feasting she has realised that our main tradition is to mix it up a bit – not repeat last year, try something different, take the traditional and change it up a bit ….. all in the name of having a fun time and a full plate with friends and family.

Over the last few years I have realised that trying to eat everything at one meal is absurd and I have taken to spreading the Christmas fare over a week or so around Christmas Day. This does involve some tricky planning and juggling but it has the benefit of more dining occasions with friends and family to enjoy celebratory meals – and that is what its all about.

Dear Santa (and others)

As 2013 nears its end I present to you my list of wishes for Christmas Day and the whole year ahead.  

Opportunities to spend time with friends and family
Secure and sustainable lifestyle
Fun and Laughter
Enough wine (and other essential fluids) to keep me hydrated
…and a table spread with yumminess 

Not to be selfish, I also wish these things for others near and far and will make this my gift family and friends

Thanks

All I want for Christmas

Just to help you all with your Christmas food here are a few of my favourite recipes for this time of year

Merry Christmas to all

Janey

2 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas…Food and Family

  1. You’re right Janey. Christmas is a great time to celebrate with family. Love the idea of spreading out the cheer. I like the look of that pavlova recipe. Looks great. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Thank you for visiting - please leave a comment.

