LCHF Trifle with Creme Anglaise

As I continue with the LCHF  way of eating I am faced with the ongoing challenge of how to provide traditional fare that meets my dietary food choices.

In our family we have always had some form of trifle for Christmas. My Nana always made one trifle in a flatter rectangular dish. One end had sherry & chocolate sprinkles on top for the adults…the other had no sherry and 100s and 1000s on top for the children.  As teenagers we always tried to serve ourselves from as close to the chocolate sprinkles as we could get.

In 2014 it was the awesome Christmas PuddingTiramisu Mince Tart Trifle

Christmas mince pie tiramisu trifle

This year – 2015 – the trifle has required a few adaptations but the practice run last week was amazing. Not only did I want to incorporate simple LCHF ingredients, I wanted to ensure that the traditional flavours and memories were incorprated.  Lucky I love a challenge.

First step was to sort out a sponge.  With a bit of a rework I was able to create an almond based LCHF Sponge  that, while not being as absorbent as a traditional sponge, was perfect for the task.  

LCHF Sponge

Once it was cool I broke it up a bit and popped it into the serving bowls.

For the fruit I decided to use my grandfather Stan’s favourite currants.  He always grew these in the garden and I have fond memories of clandestine currant eating.  I dont have fresh currants so I decided to soak some dried ones in hot water to swell them and to give me a base for my jelly.

Once these had swelled I strained them off, reserving the liquid, and scattered the currants on the sponge.

LCHF Trifle

I then made the liquid up to 150mls with water, almond essence, Vanilla essence and a bit of Port and a dash of angostura bitters.   Just play with the flavours to get a rich, Christmassy taste but avoid adding anything sugary (except the port of course).

Because the texture of the Sponge is different to normal I decided to dissolve and add 1 teaspoon of gelatine powder to the liquid to hold things together a bit before pouring the liquid onto the sponge and currants.  This went into the fridge while I sorted out a custard.

A creme anglaise style of custard was my choice.  I adapted this to avoid sugar or substitites settling for the use of Vanilla to provide the sweetness as well as the Brandy Essence & Nutmeg to give an Egg Nog vibe. Creme Anglaise is a pouring consistency so again I used Gelatine to ensure it held together in a more trifle like way

  • 3/4 Cup Pouring or Thickened Cream
  • 2 Egg Yolks
  • Vanilla Essence or Extract
  • Brandy Extracy
  • Pinch of Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp Gelatine powder – dissolved
  1. In a small pan bring the cream to an almost boil.
  2. Beat the Yolks,Essences and Nutmeg until creamy
  3. Gradually pour the hot cream onto the egg yolk mix while beating or whisking.
  4. Return the mix to the pan and cook over a low heat, stirring, until it thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon
  5. Remove from the heat, Add the Gelatine, Stir well and leave to cool

LCHF Creme Anglaise

DO NOT COOK TO FAST OR TOO LONG

or

YOU WILL GET SCRAMBLED EGGS

When the Jelly is set, and the Custard is cooled, pour the Custard over the Jelly and return to fridge.

Before serving top with whipped cream (Just add Vanilla – no Sugar) and top with sliced almonds for true LCHF or Sprinkles for the rest of the family.

LCHF Trifle Sponge

 

 

 

Thank you for visiting - please leave a comment.

